About Us

Our Story

“Investing in the Education of Future Generations of Students”

The South St. Paul Educational Foundation was established in 1984 to provide an innovative source of public school funding to support the South St. Paul public schools educational plan. Such initiatives provide enrichment, scholarships, training, intervention and prevention strategies, and extend the educational effort. The funds provided by the Foundation directly benefit students and staff and enhance educational opportunities.


Beth Skwira
Executive Director

Martha Davis

Office Manager

Teri Collins
Office Support

Board of Directors 2022-2023

President – Bryan Price
Vice President – Brenda Applequist
Treasurer – Glen Birnstengl
Secretary – Mara Sonday
Executive Director – Beth Skwira


  • Holly Christensen
  • Linda Diaz
  • Kristi Hood
  • John Laliberte
  • Alison Nelson
  • Janelle Rose


  • Dr. Brian Zambrino, Superintendent
  • Wendy Felton, School Board Liaison 


A HUGE thank you.

We are beyond grateful for the partnership and sponsorships from community businesses and organizations. Their support is critical to the sustainability of the Foundation. Due to their generous philanthropy over the years, we have been able to directly enhance the educational experience of thousands of our future leaders.



 Past Board Members

The Foundation is grateful to our past board members.
Thank you to these individuals who gave countless hours, valuable advice, and heartfelt generosity through the past 40 years!  


Brenda Apfelbacher, Keith Bares, Laurie Bauer, Beth Baumann,  Gary Boche, Dr. Michael Bozivich, Sue Brezny, Nick Brezny,  Adam Carter, Cheryl Carter, Rollin Crawford, Catherine Grimshaw, Tom Darden, Jane Dittberner, Krista Edsten, Kyle Edsten, Betty Eldridge, Dave Ericson, Shelly Forester, Kay Francis, LaVonne Francis, Mike Francis, Thomas Freeberg, Kathleen Gaylord, Barbara Gerten, Kelton Glewwe, Molly Glewwe, Dr. Steven Gorman, Jerry Gunderman, Robin Hagerty, Tim Johnson, Jeff Kandt, Richard Kasel, Diane Keehr, Jean King, Georgene Kolnberger, Mark Kronholm, Carl Lehmann, Michelle Lehmann, Julie Lenertz, Steve Lewandowski, Helen McDonough, John MacKany, Robert Meyer, Robert Milbert, Mary Molumby, Lee Nelson, Greg Niederkorn, Mary Niederkorn, Susan O’Brien, Jodee Paape, Larry Palodichuk, Rankin Patet, Pam Pavleck, Don Peacock, Ron Prill, Ken Rohlf, Melissa Rossow, Bruce Ruecker, Meghan Ruecker, Carmen Sanchez, Bette Schenian, Mike Schenian, Jill Simon, Mooreen Sonday, Tom Voigt, Rick Voigt, Janet Voight, Phil Voight, John Vujovich, Cari Vujovich, Dr. Dave Webb, Nancy Whiteside


Robert Anderson, Jerry Arvidson, Brian Barenscheer, Margaret Batemen, Judith Belde, Al Bushman, Robert Carter Jr., Fran Delia, Vance Grannis Sr., Larry Gru, Margaret Hall, Stanley Kegler, Kenneth Manthey, Mary Jane Morin, Margaret Murr, John Lally, Iantha LeVander, Roland Olson, James Lindell, Bruce Gru, Bernard St. Peter, Kathy (Johnson) Smith, Milt McMorrow, James O’Leary,  Tom Metzen, Janet Morgan, Thomas Ricker, Dale Schenian, Dr. Anton Spraitz,  Calvin Sorensen, Ken Nelson, Keith Wells, Carrie Pietruszewski, John Wilke, Doug Woog.